Overview of ISRO : facts, information, general knowledge

ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) is a Space Research Organisation of Government of India. It is located in Bengaluru.
  • ISRO was established in 1969 by replacing Indian national committee for space research (INCOSPAR) which was established in 1962.
  • ISRO is managed by department of space which falls under Prime Minister of India.
  • Vikram Sarabhai also known as father of Indian space program was the first Chairman of ISRO. It was his effort which helped to establish ISRO.
  • On 28 September 1992, Antrix corporation was established. It is a commercial arm of ISRO which promotes services and products of ISRO.
  • The first satelite developed by ISRO was Aryabhata. Aryabhata was launched was by Soviet Union on 19 April 1975. The first satelite developed and launched by India was Rohini satelite.
  • ISRO has developed many satellite launch vehicles. The satellite launch vehicles in order of  their creation are SLV (Satelite launch Vehicle), ASLV (Augmented Satelite launch Vehicle), PSLV (Polar Satelite launch Vehicle), GSLV (Geosynchronous Satelite launch Vehicle), GSLV Mark III. PSLV is one of the most trusted satelite launch vehicle of world.
    Organization Structure of ISRO

Timeline of ISRO 

1962 INCOSPAR was established
1969 ISRO was formed superceeding INCOSPAR
1971 Satish Dhawan Space Centre formed in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh.
1972 DoS was established. ISRO was brought under DoS
1975 First Indian satellite, Aryabhata was launched
1980 Rohini satelite was successfully placed by indegenous launch vehicle SLV 3
1992 First successful launch of ASLV placing SROSS-C satellite, Antrix was formed
1994 First successful launch of PSLV placed IRS-P2 in orbit
1999 Carried foriegn satellites for the first time. Multiple satellites were launched for the first time
2001 First successful launch of GSLV with GSAT-1 satellite
2005 Second launch pad at Sriharikota
2008 Launch of Chandrayaan-1. Launch of 10 satellites by a single PSLV
2009 First satellite (ANUSAT)from an Indian university (Anna University) was launched
2013 MOM (Mangalayaan) was launched
2014 Mangalayaan was succesfully placed in Mars orbit
2016 Created a record by placing 20 satellites in a single payload