List of Presidents of India: facts, information, gk

Indian President is the head of state of India. President of India is elected  indirectly by people of India through the elected members of Both the houses of Parliament and members of Legislative Assembly of states and Union Territories. Here is the list of presidents of India after the independence of India. Learn general information about Indian President

List of Indian Presidents

Presidents of India Description
Dr.Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963)
From 01/26/50 to 05/13/62
First president of India
Only Indian president who served twice
He was the longest serving president of India
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975)
From 05/13/62 to 05/13/67
First Vice President of India
First president from south India
Won Bharat Ratna in 1954
His Birthday is celebrated as Teachers Day on 5th September
Zakir Hussain (1897-1969)
From 05/13/67 to 05/03/69
First Muslim President of India
He was the first president who dies in office
He was also the shortest serving president of India
Zakir Hussain co founded the jamia Milia Islamia.
He was awarded Bharat Ratna in 1963

Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894-1980)
From 05/03/69 to 07/20/69
After the uncertain death of Zakir Hussain, he was elected as acting president.
He was the shortest serving vice president.
Sometimes, he was also called as Rubber Stamp President of India.
He was conferred Bharat Ratna in 1975
 Muhammad Hidayatullah (1905-1992)
From 07/20/69 to 08/24/69
 He was a eminent jurist, scholar and educationist.
He had also served as Chief Justice of India and as Vice President of India
Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894-1980)
From 08/24/69 to 08/24/74
He was the first president who has served as Acting President.
 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905-1977)
From 08/24/74 to 02/11/77
He was a lawyer and second president to die in office
 Basappa Danappa Jatti (1912-2002)
From 02/11/77 to 07/25/77
He also served as the acting president after the death of F A Ahmed
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1913-1996)
From 07/25/77 to 07/25/82
He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
He was the youngest President of India
He was also elected as the speaker of lok sabha for twice before he became president.
Giani Zail Singh (1916-1994)
From 07/25/82 to 07/25/87
He was the president when the anti Sikh riot of 1984 occurred.
In his tenure, Operation bluestar and assassination of Indira Gandhi occurred.
Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1910-2009)
From 07/25/87 to 07/25/92
He was a lawyer and an activist during the Independence movement of india
Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918-1999)
From 07/25/92 to 07/25/97
He also served as Chief Minister of Bhopal and Vice President of India
Kocheril Raman Narayanan (1920-2005)
From 07/25/97 to 07/25/02
He was the first Dalit President of India.
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (1931-2015)
From 07/25/02 to 07/25/07
He was a scientist and helped in development of ballistic missile and launch vehicle. He was also called the Missile man of India
He is popularly called as People's President.
In 1997 he was awarded with Bharat Ratna
Smt. Pratibha Patil (1934-Alive)
From 07/25/07 to 07/25/12
She is the first woman president of India
Pranab Mukherjee (1935-Alive)
From 07/25/12to 07/25/2017
He is associated with the indian politics for a long time. He held many cabinet portfolios - Defence, Finance, External Affairs.
Ramnath Kovind (1945-Alive)
From 07/25/17 onwards
He is the second dalit president.
He was a lawyer and served as member of Rajya Sabha for two consecutive terms.