Political Geography of India: facts, info

After the independence of India in 1947, the process of creating different states and defining the boundaries were started. On 26 January, 1950 the Republic of India was born. At that time the states were classified into four classes- States under the Governor, States under the Rajpramukh, States under the chief commissioner, Union Territory.

  • In 1956, States Reorganization Act was passed. According to the Act 14 Indian states and 6 Union Territories were created. The states were created on the basis of language.
  • In 1960, Bombay state was divided into two parts and Maharashtra, Gujarat were created.
  • In 1966, Punjab was divided and two states Punjab and Haryana were born.
  • In 2000, Madhya Pradesh was divided into Madhya Pradesh and Chhatishgarh; Uttar Pradesh was divided into Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand; Bihas was divided into Bihar and Jharkhand.
  • After the states reorganization act of 1956, the process of creating new states had been continued. Till now India has 29 states, 6 union Territories, 1 National Capital Territory.
  • The newly created state is Telangana. It is created on 2 June, 2014.
  • Delhi was declared as National Capital Territory of India in 1993. Before that Delhi was Union Territory.
  • India shares its land boundaries with Bangladesh (4096 KM), Bhutan (699 KM), Myanmar (1643 Km), China (4057 KM), Nepal (1751 KM), Pakistan (3323 KM).
  • LAC (Line of Actual Control) is the effective border between India and China. LOC (Line of Control) is the informal border between India and Pakistan.