Indian National Flag:facts,information,gk

Indian National flag (also referred as “Tiranga” or “Tricolour”) consists three bands of color (saffron at top, White at middle, Green at bottom) and a navy blue color ashok chakra (with 24 spokes) at middle.
indian flag
Indian Flag
  • Tricolour was adopted as Indian national flag on 22 July 1947 by constituent assembly.
  • Indian flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya. The ratio of width to length of the flag is 2:3. All the three color bands in the flag should be of equal length.  The saffron color of the flag stands for courage, Sacrifice and spirit of Renunciation; White stands for Truth and Purity; Green stands for faith and fertility; Ashok chakra represents the wheel of law.
  • There are many laws and protocols, according to which the flag should be used. Some of the laws are- Flag Code of India, 2002; The Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950; Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act, 1971. Before 2002, Private Citizens were not allowed to display Indian flag except on national days. After a PIL lodged by Naveen Jindal in court, a revision to the ‘flag code of India’ was introduced in 2002, which suppressed the restriction.
  • According to law, flag should be made of special Khadi cloth. Only Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha is licensed to produce and supply flag in India.