SEBI(Securities and Exchange Board of India): facts,information,general knowledge

SEBI (Securities and Exchange Board of India) is a government established authority which regulates the securities market in India.
SEBI Information
  • SEBI was established in 1988 by the government of India. In the year 1992,SEBI Act 1992 was passed in the parliament of India which made SEBI a statutory body.
  • The main office of SEBI is located in Mumbai. Other four regional offices are in Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai & Ahmadabad.
  • SEBI is managed by its board of members. The board of SEBI comprises 1) The Chairman (nominated by  Government of India) 2) Two members from finance ministry 3) one member from RBI (Reserve Bank of India) 4) other five members nominated by Union Government of India (among these five members three members are whole timers ). 
Functions of SEBI:
  • It regulates the security markets in india.
  • It checks the trading of stocks and safes the security market from the malpratices.
  • It regulates the stockbrokers and sub- stockbrockers.
  • It provides education regarding market to the investors to improve their knowledge.
  • It looks after the interest of investors.