Interesting facts and information about Lok Sabha

Lok Sabha is a Indian constitutional body. It is also called the house of people or the lower house in the parliament.
  • There are 545 members in the Lok Sabha. Out of which 543 members are directly elected from the States and union territories. Other two members are selected by Indian president from the Anglo Indian community.
  • A person is eligible for the seat of Lok Sabha only if - a) he/she is a citizen of India b) His/her age would be greater than 25 years c) He/she must not be of unsound mind d) He/she must be an elector from any parliamentary constituency f) He/she must not hold any profitable post in any government offices.
  • To run the Lok Sabha properly, a speaker and a deputy speaker is elected from the members of lok Sabha.
  • The members of lok Sabha are elected for the term of five years. Though in case of emergency this can be extended for a year.
  • The first lok Sabha was held on 17 April, 1952. Indian Congress won the first election by 75.99% of votes. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister.
  • "Lok sabha tv" is the lok Sabha's own Tv channel which is headquartered in the premises of parliament.  
Powers of Lok Sabha
  • Money bills can only be passed in lok Sabha. After a bill is passed in lok Sabha, it is sent in Rajya Sabha for any recommendations.
  • Motion of no confidence can only be introduced in lok Sabha. If it is passed then the prime minister and other council of ministers need to resign from their post.
  • It has the same power as Rajya Sabha in case of impeachment of president and the judges of supreme court.
  • It has equal power as Rajya Sabha in passing any bill for constitutional amendment.