Interesting facts and information about Himalaya mountain range

Himalayan mountain range is one of the youngest mountain range in the world. It is located in the northern border of India and separates Indian subcontinent from other countries of Asia.
Himalaya Mountain Range
Himalaya Mountain Range
  • Himalayan mountain range was formed about 70 million years ago in Jurassic Era when Indian tectonic plate collided with Eurasian Plate. These plates are still moving and as a result the height of the mountain is also increasing.
  • It is about 2400 km long having shape of an arc. Its width varies between 150-400 km. It has three parallel mountain ranges- Lesser Himalaya or Himchal, Greater Himalaya or Himadri, Outer Himalaya or Siwaliks.
  • Ranges Facts
    • It is the northern most range
    • The average height of this range is 6000 Metre and average width is 120 KM. It consists most of the highest peaks such as - Mt. Everest, Nanga Parbat, Kanchenjunga
    • Ganges and Yamuna is originated from this range
    •  This range lies between the Himadri and Siwalik range
    • The average height of this range is 4000 Metre and average width is 60-80 KM.
    • Some of the important ranges in this are - Dhaula Dhar, Pir Panjal, Mahabharata
    • Many famous hill stations are located in this range. Such as - Shimla, Mussoorie, Nanital etc
    •  It is the outermost range
    • The average height of this range is 1000 Metre and average width is 10-50 KM.
    • The valleys which lies between the Himachal and Siwalik are called Duns

  • Himalayan mountain range is the father of many highest mountain peaks. About 100 mountain peaks of height greater than 7,200 meter are located here. World’s highest mountain Mount Everest is also a part of this mountain range. Other popular peaks are- Karakoram, Kanchenjunga.
  • The word Himalaya means “home of snow”. Because upper portion (above 5,500km) of this mountain range is always covered with snow.
  •  This mountain range is the home of many Glaciers and Rivers. The glaciers of this mountain are the source of rivers such as- Ganges, Indus, Brahmaputra, and Yamuna.
  • Himalaya affects climate of Asia greatly. It is the reason for the heavy rainfall in Terai region. It had a great role behind the creation of Gobi desert.
  • This mountain range is part of five countries-Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, India and China.

Major Mountain Peaks of Himalaya

Peaks Information
Everest Height: 8,848 Metre, Country: Nepal, Tibet
K2 (Godwin Austen) Height: 8,611 Metre, Country: China Pakistan border
Kangchenjunga Height: 8,586 Metre, Country: India
Makalu Height: 8481 Metre, Country: Nepal
Nangaparbat Height: 8126 Metre, Country: India
Annapurna Height: 8078 Metre, Country: Nepal
Nanda Devi Height: 7817 Metre, Country: India
Dhaulagire Height: 8172 Metre, Country: Nepal
Namcha Barwa Height: 7756 Metre, Country: India

Major Mountain Passes of Himalaya

Pass Info
Banihal Pass Joins Jammu with Srinagar.
Bara Lacha Joins Manali and Leh
Nathu La Situated in India-China border. Connects Sikkim with China
Jelep La It connects Sikkim with Lhasa, Tibet
Mana Pass Located in High altitude of Uttarakhand, Connects India with Tibet
Chang La It is Second Highest Motorable pass of World. Located in Ladakh
Debsa Pass It is located in Himachal Pradesh. Connects Kullu and Spiti
Lanak Pass Connects Ladakh with Lhasa

Quick facts about Himalayan Mountain Range

Name: Himalaya Mountain Range
Length: 2,400 km
Countries: Afghanistan
Home of the Peaks: Mount Everest,Karakoram, Kanchenjunga
Home of the Rivers: Ganges,Yamuna, Brahmaputra,Indus