Interesting facts and information about Bharat Ratna award

Bharat Ratna is the most prestigious award given by Indian government. Anyone with a great performance in any field is eligible for this honor.
  • The medal looks like a peepul leaf with “Bharat Ratna” written on it in Devanagari script. An image of sun is also printed on it. The back side of the award carries the state emblem and motto.
  • facts about bharat ratna
    Bharat Ratna Medal
  • The award was started by formal President of India Rajendra Prasad on 2nd January, 1954. At that time only the alive people were eligible for their national service. Later in 1966, this criterion was changed.
  • The first person to receive Bharat Ratna was scientist C.V. Raman and the first person to receive Bharat Ratna after death was Lal Bahadur Shashtri.
  • Among 45 awards given so far only 2 awards were given to foreign citizen-Nelson Mandela (1990), Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1987). Mother Terasa is the only naturalized Indian citizen who had received the award.
  • In the beginning the award was limited to the people of arts, literature, science, and public services field. From 2011, the criteria were changed by the government and now people from any field can be awarded for their achievements.
  • The Bharat Ratna award was suspended twice. Once in 1977-1980, when national government was changed and again in 1992-1995 when there were public litigation regarding the constitutional validity of the award.
  • Prime Minister of India recommends the names to President for the award. Only three persons can be awarded for a year.
  • Subhas Chandra Bose was awarded with Bharat Ratna posthumously in 1992. But due to controversy (as there is no evidence of Subhas Chandra Bose’s death) the award was withdrawn. It is the only incident in the history of Bharat Ratna that an award was withdrawn.

Quick General Knowledge about Bharat Ratna

Person Info
C. Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and C. V. Raman, First to receive the award
Lal Bahadur Shastri First to receive the award posthumously
Mother Terasa Only naturalized Indian citizen to receive the award
Sachin Tendulkar First Sportsman to receive the award. He is also the youngest receiver of Bharat Ratna
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan, Nelson Mandela Non-Indians who received the award
Indira Gandhi First Women to receive the award
Vallabhbhai Patel Eldest to receive the award posthumously (at age 116)

List of Bharat Ratna Recipient

Person Year Info
Radhakrishnan 1954 Indian President
C. V. Raman 1954 Physicist
C Rajagopalachari 1954 Independence activist,Indian Governor-General of India
Jawaharlal Nehru 1955 Prime Minister
Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya 1955 Civil engineer
Bhagwan Das 1955 Independence activist,Founder of Kashi Vidya Peeth
Govind Ballabh Pant 1957 Independence activist
Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958 Social reformer
Purushottam Das Tandon 1961 Independence activist
Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961 Physician, Political Leader,
Rajendra Prasad 1962 Independence activist, Indian President
Pandurang Vaman Kane 1963 Indologist and Sanskrit scholar
Zakir Hussain 1963 Independence activist, Indian President
Lal Bahadur Shastri 1966 Independence activist, Prime Minister
Indira Gandhi 1971 Prime Minister
V. V. Giri 1975 Indian President
K. Kamaraj 1976 Independence activist, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Mother Teresa 1980 Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity in Kolkata
Vinoba Bhave 1983 Social reformer, Independence activist
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987 Independence activist
M. G. Ramachandran 1988 Film actor, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Nelson Mandela 1990 Leader of the Anti-Apartheid movement
B. R. Ambedkar 1990 Chief architect of the Indian Constitution, Social Reformer
Morarji Desai 1991 Independence activist, Prime Minister
Vallabhbhai Patel 1991 Independence activist, First Home Minister
Rajiv Gandhi 1991 Prime Minister.
Satyajit Ray 1992 Bengali Filmmaker
J. R. D. Tata 1992 Industrialist and Philanthropist
Abul Kalam Azad 1992 Independence activist
Aruna Asaf Ali 1997 Independence activist
Gulzarilal Nanda 1997 Independence activist
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 1997 Aeronautical Engineer, Indian President
Jayaprakash Narayan 1998 Independence activist, Politician
Chidambaram Subramaniam 1998 Independence activist
M. S. Subbulakshmi 1998 Carnatic classical singer
Gopinath Bordoloi 1999 Independence activist, Chief Minister of Assam
Amartya Sen 1999 Economist
Ravi Shankar 1999 Sitar player
Bismillah Khan 2001 Shehnai player
Lata Mangeshkar 2001 Playback singer
Bhimsen Joshi 2009 Classical singer
Sachin Tendulkar 2014 Cricketer
C. N. R. Rao 2014 Scientist
Madan Mohan Malaviya 2015 Educational reformer, Founder of Banaras Hindu University.
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 2015 Prime Minister