Interesting facts about indian currency rupee

The currency of India is rupee (INR) (₹). Reserve Bank of India controls the issuance of Indian currency (money) rupee.
  • The word ‘rupee’ comes from the Sanskrit word ‘raupya’. The meaning of which is silver.
  • Sher Shah Suri introduced the first rupee. The first paper note was issued by Bank of Hindustan.  
  • The value (amount) of a banknote is written on the banknote in Hindi and English in the front side and in 15 different Indian languages in the backside of the note.
    rupee symbol
    Indian currency symbol
  • In 2010 Indian rupee symbol “₹” was adopted. D.Udaya Kumar is the creator of the rupee symbol. The symbol was derived from Devanagari letter "" (ra). The symbol is a combination of the Latin letter “R” and Devanagari letter “”. The parallel line in the symbol is given to make it look like tricolor of Indian national flag.
  • After the independence of India the first coins were introduced in 1950. It was made of Cupro-nickel. In 1964 aluminum coins were first introduced for up to 20 paisa. Stainless steel coins (10, 25, and 50) were first introduced in 1988.
  • 75, 100, 1000 rupees coin were first made in 2010. It was only for the commemorative purposes. They were made to celebrate 75 years of Reserve Bank of India, 100 years of Rabindranath Tagore and 1000 years of Brihadeeswarar temple. 
  • The current series of bank notes are called Mahatma Gandhi Series. The Mahatma Gandhi series of notes were introduced in 1996.
Clean Note Policy of RBI
To prevent the circulation of mutilated or soiled notes and to increase the life expectancy of notes, RBI has introduced Clean Note policy in 2001. According to this policy some guidelines were set for the public.i.e.
  1. Not to staple or write anything on the notes
  2. Store the notes safely to prevent damage
  3. Banks were instructed to provide clean notes in exchange of spoiled notes
  4. Banks were instructed to sort the issuable and non-issuable notes and to provide only good quality notes to the public
  • 500 rupees note was introduced in 1987 and 1000 rupee note was introduced in 2000. After demonetization of 8th November,2016 these notes were declared invalid and new 500 and 2000 rupee notes were introduced
  • Demonetization of 500 and 1000 Rupee note
    On 8th November 2016, Govenrment of India declared that the 500 and 1000 rupee notes were not legal tendar and thus the use of these notes became invalid. Instead of that new 500, 2000 rupee notes were introduced.
  • Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL) is responsible for printing Indian banknotes, postal stamps and other government documents. It also produces the coins. SPMCIL is a government owned corporation established in 2006. It manages 4 presses, 4 mints and 1 paper mill.
Unit Location Information
Currency Notes Press Nashik, Maharashtra Prints currency notes
Bank Notes Press Dewas, Madhya Pradesh Prints currency notes It also has ink factory. Which produces ink for security printing
India Security Press Nashik, Maharashtra Prints Postal stamps, and other government documents
Security Printing Press Hyderabad, Telangana Prints Postal stamps, and other government documents
India Government Mint Mumbai, Maharashtra Produces coins and medals
India Government Mint Kolkata, West Bengal Produces coins and medals
India Government Mint Hyderabad, Telangana Produces coins and medals
India Government Mint Noida, Uttar Pradesh Produces coins and medals
Security Paper Mill Hoshangabad, Madhya Pradesh Produces papers for currency notes and different documents
  • Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Limited (BRBNMPL) is also responsible for printing the currency notes. It is a RBI subsidiary. It has two presses in Mysore and Salboni.